Purpose of Lesson Planning

Today my pre-service teacher cohort discussed many of the purposes for lesson planning: setting learning goals, methods of assessing goals, staying on topic, micro and macro time management, adhering to state and / or national requirements, having a plan to share with substitute teachers and colleagues, and more.  As we worked in small groups on micro teaching lesson plans, I found it easy to get carried away with ideas and to generalize, especially on sections of the plan that involved discussion with students.  The setting of a learning goal or goals is crucial to staying focused.  Pretending a substitute who knows nothing about my class or the curriculum will have to teach from my lesson plan is something that will help me to be specific and detailed as I begin to create my own plans.

Leave a Reply

